Custom Text

Books

La Jolla Summertime and the Readin’ is Easy

By  | 

One of my favorite summertime spots is La Jolla Beach in San Diego. Think bright colors, surf, and sun. (And, of course, BOOKS)!

TABLE OF CONTENTS: Books: Euphoria, Lily KingKissing in Italian, Lauren Henderson; Cut-out romper: Chaser; Bralette: Free People

If you’re looking to embrace your inner California Surfer Girl (or Boy), look no further than San Diego. La Jolla Beach is probably one of my favorite beaches in San Diego because of  it’s laid back (but still well-kept) style. A  romper with a little flair (like the one above) is a perfect day to night look for the beach and I’m in love with Free People bralettes for layering. As for books, I liked the two featured in the pics above because they seemed like perfect beach reads but the truth is I never got to them because I couldn’t put down one of my favorite books this year . . . drum roll  please . . . A Court of Thorns and Roses!

ACOTAR:

A Court of Thorns and Roses, Sarah J. Maas

If you like Beauty and the Beast retellings, or fantasy novels, or romance, or just REALLY REALLY REALLY AMAZING STORIES, get this book. I love Maas’s other fantasy series Throne of Glass so figured I’d give this one a shot and boy it did not disappoint. I just cannot gush over this one enough. Here’s the blurb:

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin–one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin–and his world–forever.

 Now go buy it. (PS for all you fellow animal lovers, I have to admit I almost didn’t read this because of the wolf killing but found it wasn’t bad at all especially since it was a fairy and not real wolf at all. Phssssh. Ha.)

For more beach book recs make sure to check out Sizzling Beach Reads. What’s the best beach book you’ve read so far? Share below in the comments below!